Email a friend
  • To include more than one recipient, please separate each email address with a semi-colon ';', to a maximum of 5

  • By submitting this article to a friend we reserve the right to contact them regarding AMM subscriptions. Please ensure you have their consent before giving us their details.

Honors roll on: AMM Awards

May 31, 2014 | 07:00 PM | AMM staff

Tags  Steel Success Strategies, Awards for Steel Excellence, David Brooks

Ever since 2010, AMM has asked the same questions around this time of year: What constitutes high achievement in the steel industry? What is it, exactly, that makes a steel organization or executive excellent? What does it take to be the best and the best-tempered in the competitive and venerable steel world?

And every year AMM answers those questions through its Awards for Steel Excellence. From 2010 to 2013, AMM gave 47 awards to companies, organizations and individuals in recognition of their contributions and innovations along the entire steel supply chain.

AMM launched its awards program in order to give proper recognition to those companies and individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the steel industry,” said David Brooks, senior vice president and editor in chief of AMM. Since its inception, the program has spread far and wide in reputation among steelmakers and their supply chain colleagues.

This year, the fifth time AMM will single out steel-related companies, organizations and individuals for achievements under its Awards for Steel Excellence program, 15 awards will be presented. “I look forward to meeting the latest winners on June 17 and to a long and successful future for this awards program and the industry it represents,” Brooks said, referring to this year’s awards dinner during AMM’s Steel Success Strategies XXIX conference in New York.

This year’s awards are the biggest yet, featuring new highs for categories (15), total nominees (39) and number of finalists (48). (Some nominees are finalists in more than one category.)

“I think that the quality of nominations and winners have demonstrated time and again that innovation, manufacturing excellence and customer-focused service are alive and well in the steel sector,” Brooks said.

Here are some quick facts about the first five years of the program:

•Seven companies or individuals have multiple wins: ArcelorMittal SA (five), although it has yet to win the Steel Producer of the Year award; AK Steel Corp. (four), winner of the first Steel Producer of the Year award; Tom Danjczek (two), both for Industry Ambassador/Advocate of the Year; Schnitzer Steel Industries Inc. (two), both for Scrap Company of the Year; Reliance Steel & Aluminum Co. (two); Sims Metal Management Ltd. (two); and Steel Dynamics Inc. (two). Nucor Corp. would be the eighth company on that list if individual awards are counted toward a company’s total—the company won once for Steel Producer of the Year, while former Nucor executives Daniel R. DiMicco (Industry Ambassador/Advocate of the Year) and F. Kenneth Iverson (Titan of Steel) each won an award.

•There are three finalists for the 2014 awards that could become multiple winners with an award this year: David J. Joseph Co., Olympic Steel Inc. and Scrap Metal Services LLC. Several others that have already received multiple awards also are finalists this year.

•As an individual, only Danjczek is a repeat winner, and the only nominee to win the same category (Industry Ambassador/Advocate of the Year) two years in a row, in 2012 and 2013.

•As a company, only Schnitzer has won in the same category more than once—it was named Scrap Company of the Year in 2011 and again in 2013.

•ArcelorMittal has won twice for Best Innovation, although in two separate subcategories: one for Process in 2011, and one for Product in 2013. (Best Innovation was a single category in 2010 and 2012.)

•The record for wins by a single nominee in any one year is two: ArcelorMittal in 2012 for Best Operational Improvements and Best Brownfield/Greenfield Technology Project; AK Steel in 2010 for Turnaround of the Decade and Steel Producer of the Year; and Nucor in 2010, if the individual awards of Titan of Steel for Iverson and Industry Ambassador/Advocate of the Year for DiMicco count toward the company tally.

•Eight categories have appeared in all five years without changes: Best Mergers & Acquisitions; Best Operational Improvements; Environmental Responsibility/Stewardship; Industry Ambassador/Advocate of the Year; Logistics/Transportation Provider of the Year; Scrap Company of the Year; Service Center of the Year; and Steel Producer of the Year.

Here are highlights of the past five years:

2010—AK Steel took home the big award, winning the first-ever Steel Producer of the Year. There were three awards—Titan of Steel to Ken Iverson, Turnaround of the Decade to AK Steel and Biggest Market Impact to ArcelorMittal—that have not been given out since.

2011—Steel Dynamics Inc. won Steel Producer of the Year, while Schnitzer won the first of its Scrap Company of the Year awards; Mario Longhi was named Industry Ambassador/Advocate of the Year; and Reliance, North America’s largest distributor by revenue, received the Service Center of the Year award. The Best Innovation category was divided into separate awards for Process and Product.

2012—Commercial Metals Co. was named Steel Producer of the Year; ArcelorMittal took home two awards; and Danjczek won the first of his Industry Ambassador/Advocate of the Year awards. Changes included the combination of the Best Greenfield and the Best Brownfield awards into a single category, and Best Innovation (Process) and Best Innovation (Product) also were recombined into a single award.

2013—One company and one individual became the first-ever repeat winners in a single category: Schnitzer was named Scrap Company of the Year for a second time and Danjczek received his second straight Industry Ambassador/Advocate of the Year award. Nucor was named Steelmaker of the Year. Two categories were introduced: Ferrous Scrap Exporter of the Year and Tube and Pipe Producer of the Year. The Best Innovation category once again was divided into separate awards for Process and Product.

2014—New categories include Technology Provider of the Year, Financial Services Company of the Year and Information Technology Company of the Year. In addition, the Scrap Company of the Year and Service Center of the Year awards are each divided into two subcategories for large companies and for small/midsize companies. The Ferrous Scrap Exporter of the Year and Tube and Pipe Producer of the Year categories were eliminated.

Latest Pricing Trends Year Over Year


How will metal prices perform in 2018?

The same, with minimal change in either direction
Better, building off 2017 momentum
Worse, suffering losses
Mixed, with steel improving and base metals declining
Mixed, with base metals improving and steel declining

View previous results