Welcome to Home of AMM's Awards for Steel Excellence

Within this section of we proudly celebrate the accomplishments of our industry. Companies large and small are recognized here for achieving excellence in a number of areas. As the voice of the industry, American Metal Market is proud to honor the best among us.

Connect with us on social media and use the #AMMAwards2017 to share your thoughts on celebrating #excellence.


The judges evaluate nominations using a point-based qualitative approach to determine the winners. The nomination and judging processes are audited by and in full compliance with Euromoney/Institutional Investor guidelines and standards to ensure integrity and objectivity.

Upon closing the nomination process; nomination forms are reviewed by five judges. They score each nomination on a scale of 1 – 5 with 5 being the highest. Those nominations that receive a minimum score of “3” from each person then become a finalist.

Finalists’ nomination forms are delivered to all judges with a deadline to submit their scores. The nominee with the highest combined score from all judges is named the winner.

The distinguished panel of judges:

John Lichtenstein, managing director of global metals and APAC natural resources industries for Accenture Plc in Beijing

 Nick Sowar, global metals sector leader for Deloitte & Touche LLP

Jo Isenberg-O’Loughlin, Retired AMM executive Editor

Bill Jones, retired Vice Chairman, O'Neal Industries 

Thomas Danjczek, Advisor and Past President, Steel Manufacturers Association 

Vince Pappalardo, Managing Director - Metals, Brown Gibbons Lang & Company 

Michelle Applebaum,Veteran Steel Analyst and long-time Salomon Bros/Citigroup Managing Director, founder of Steel Market Intelligence (now retired) and Board of Directors at Northwest Pipe

 Jim Wainscott, Retired CEO, AK Steel