Search Copying and distributing are prohibited without permission of the publisher
Email a friend
  • To include more than one recipient, please separate each email address with a semi-colon ';', to a maximum of 5

  • By submitting this article to a friend we reserve the right to contact them regarding AMM subscriptions. Please ensure you have their consent before giving us their details.

AMM Hall of Fame: Honoring steel’s greats

Keywords: Tags  AMM Hall of Fame, Sir Henry Bessemer, Andrew Carnegie, Judge Elbert H. Gary, Yoshihiro Inayama, F. Kenneth Iverson, Willy Korf, Park Tae-joon Charles M. Schwab

To recognize the most notable contributors to the advancement of the global steel industry throughout the years, AMM is establishing a Steel Hall of Fame. Founded to help celebrate the 130th anniversary of AMM, the Hall of Fame is intended to recognize the careers of technologists and executive leaders, as well as financiers, labor leaders and economists, whose work has benefited the industry.

Over the coming years, numerous movers, shakers and big-league contributors to the evolution and advancement of the global steel industry will join AMM’s Steel Hall of Fame. But those elected as members of the inaugural class will always occupy a special place in the Hall’s history.

After a lengthy nomination process and two elimination rounds, the AMM Steel Hall of Fame voting committee has selected a truly outstanding group of industry notables to blaze the trail for those to come. The eight individuals elected to the inaugural class represent five different countries, are drawn from the ranks of inventors, entrepreneurs, technologists and new-breed thinkers and leaders, and between them have made immense contributions to both the integrated and the electric furnace-based branches of the global steel community.

Sadly, none of the inaugural inductees remains with us.Park Tae-joon, the last remaining survivor, passed away only days after the final Hall-of-Fame vote was cast.

Two of the inductees were elected unanimously by the eight-member voting committee. Andrew Carnegie, considered by many to be the father of modern steelmaking, and F. Kenneth “Ken” Iverson, who earned an iron-clad reputation for revolutionizing the mini-mill sector, were waved non-stop into the Hall of Fame with eight green flags.

The fact that the other six inductees—Henry Bessemer, Elbert H. Gary, Yoshihiro Inayama, Willy Korf, Charles M. Schwab and Park—failed to win unanimous support attests to the sheer quality and depth of the field they were drawn from. In total, 24 individuals garnered at least one vote for induction, and each promises to be a strong candidate for induction in future voting.

“It’s a stellar list of the exceptional and the great throughout the modern history of steelmaking,” AMM senior vice president, publisher and editor-in-chief David Brooks said. “They range from key technologists, pioneering entrepreneurs and great executive leaders to the financiers who helped transform the industry.”

There will be a similar voting process for future classes of the AMM Steel Hall of Fame, starting with the Class of 2012, which will be selected later this year. The Hall is housed at A roving exhibit at a selection of AMM industry conferences also will depict the work of these great pioneers.

The inaugural inductees to the AMM Steel Hall of Fame were selected by eight judges:

• Ian Christmas, former director-general of the World Steel Association. An economist, he had industry experience with British Steel Corp. and Foseco Plc before joining WorldSteel in 1991 as deputy director.

• Robert W. Crandall, a nonresident senior fellow at the Brookings Institution, Washington. He has a long history as an economist and academic, and has published significant works on the steel industry, including The U.S. Steel Industry in Recurrent Crisis and Up from the Ashes: The Rise of the Steel Mini-Mill in the United States.

• Jo Isenberg-O’Loughlin, executive editor of American Metal Market. She has been covering the steel industry for more than 30 years and has served as editor of AMM for the past 11 years, the most successful decade in the publication’s long history.

• Frank T. Koelble, who spent more than 40 years at Fordham University, where he conducted extensive steel industry research alongside Father William T. Hogan. He authored the Hogan Steel Archive, which can be found HERE.

• Mario Longhi, former president and chief executive officer of Gerdau Long Steel North America. He joined Gerdau as president of the group’s North American operations in 2005 after 23 years with Alcoa Inc.

• Hans Mueller, a steel industry consultant and academic. The principal of TN Consulting is a former professor at Middle Tennessee State University. He has published numerous articles in academic and technical journals, organized steel conferences and testified before Congress on three occasions.

• Robert P. Rogers, professor of economics at Dauch College of Business and Economics at Ashland University in Ohio. He has written extensively on the steel industry, and in 2009 published a book entitled, An Economic History of the American Steel Industry.

• Clyde Selig, former chief executive officer of CMC Steel Group, a division of Commercial Metals Co., Irving, Texas. He was an active participant in the Steel Manufacturers Association and various technical associations.

Have your say
  • All comments are subject to editorial review.
    All fields are compulsory.