Search Copying and distributing are prohibited without permission of the publisher
Email a friend
  • To include more than one recipient, please separate each email address with a semi-colon ';', to a maximum of 5

  • By submitting this article to a friend we reserve the right to contact them regarding AMM subscriptions. Please ensure you have their consent before giving us their details.

Copper Club to honor Vann, Koo

Keywords: Tags  Copper Club, Copper Man of the Year, Jim Vann, Rea Magnet Wire, C.M. Koo, LS-Nikko, Ankh Award

NEW YORK —Rea Magnet Wire Co. Inc. chairman Jim Vann and LS-Nikko Copper Inc. chairman C.M. Koo have been chosen to receive the Copper Club’s Copper Man of the Year Ankh award.

Vann and Koo will be honored at the group’s annual dinner June 5 in New York.

Vann was selected for his role “in building Rea into a leading company in the magnet wire industry, as well as his outstanding service to the copper and electrical manufacturing industries,” the Copper Club said May 2.

In 1986, Vann led the leveraged buyout of Fort Wayne, Ind.-based Rea from aluminum producer Alcoa Inc., becoming its chairman, president and chief executive officer. Rea teamed up with Tongling Jingda Special Magnet Wire Co. Ltd. in 2000 to establish several joint-venture magnet wire companies, and in 2006 Vann headed up the company’s acquisition of Phelps Dodge Magnet Wire Co.

Koo was chosen for his role in developing “a world-class company in the smelting and refining segment of the industry,” the group said.

Koo has helped make South Korea’s LS-Nikko more competitive in terms of quality, innovation and capacity, building it into the third-largest copper smelter worldwide, according to the Copper Club.

Have your say
  • All comments are subject to editorial review.
    All fields are compulsory.

Latest Pricing Trends