Fastmarkets AMM Steel Hall of Fame

In the beginning, there is just that . . . a beginning. And the implied promise of more to come.

Over the coming years numerous movers, shakers and big-league contributors to the evolution and advancement of the global steel industry will join Fastmarkets AMM's Steel Hall of Fame, but those elected as members of the first class will always occupy a special place in the Hall’s history.

By design and circumstance, competition for entry into the Steel Hall of Fame will never be more heated than that waged during the inaugural year when the field of candidates basically encompasses any individual who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of the industry over its long and colorful history.

After a lengthy nomination process and two elimination rounds, the Fastmarkets AMM Steel Hall of Fame voting committee has selected a truly outstanding group of industry notables to blaze the trail for those to come. The eight individuals elected to the inaugural class represent five different countries, are drawn fom the ranks of inventors, entrepreneurs, technologists and new-breed thinkers and leaders and between them, have made immense contributions to both the integrated and the electric furnace-based branches of the global steel community.

Sadly, none of the inaugural-class inductees remain with us. Park Tae-joon , the last remaining survivor, passed away only days after the final Hall of Fame vote was cast.

While detailed results of the full voting will not be disclosed, Fastmarkets AMM can reveal that two of the inductees were elected unanimously by the eight-member voting committee.

Andrew Carnegie, considered by many the father of modern steelmaking, and F. Kenneth “Ken” Iverson who earned and enjoys an iron-clad reputation for revolutionizing the mini-mill sector, were waved non-stop into the Hall with eight green flags flashing.

The fact that the other six inductees—Willy Korf, Charles M. Schwab, Elbert H. Gary, Henry Bessemer, Yoshihiro Inayama and Park Tae-joon—failed to win unanimous support attests to the sheer quality and depth of the field they were drawn from. All total, 24 individuals garnered at least one vote for induction and each promises to be a strong candidate for induction in future voting.

The next round of balloting will take place later this year when the voting committee selects the Class of 2012. For now, however, the eight inaugural members of the Fastmarkets AMM Steel Hall of Fame stand tall . . . and alone.