Search Copying and distributing are prohibited without permission of the publisher
Email a friend
  • To include more than one recipient, please separate each email address with a semi-colon ';', to a maximum of 5

  • By submitting this article to a friend we reserve the right to contact them regarding Fastmarkets AMM subscriptions. Please ensure you have their consent before giving us their details.

COMMENT: AMM Steel Hall of Fame to honor all-time greats

Keywords: Tags  AMM Comment, John Ambrosia, Steel Hall of Fame

Making steel may be all in a day’s work for millions of people around the world, but sometimes during the course of that effort a few individuals make history and long-lasting breakthroughs.

To commemorate the contributions of giants in the industry past and present, AMM is launching a Steel Hall of Fame. The inaugural class, which will be announced in March, will recognize the most notable contributors to the advancement of the global steel industry throughout the years.

Although numerous movers, shakers and big-league contributors to the evolution and advancement of the global steel industry will join AMM’s Steel Hall of Fame in the coming years, the inaugural class will always occupy a special place in the Hall’s history. The roster of finalists from around the world includes several leading players from the late 19th Century but also recognizes more timely contributors. 

“It’s a stellar list of the exceptional and the great throughout the modern history of steelmaking,” AMM senior vice president, publisher and editor-in-chief David Brooks said when announcing the project in December. “The finalists range from key technologists, pioneering entrepreneurs and great executive leaders to the financiers who helped transform the industry.”

After a lengthy nomination process, the AMM Steel Hall of Fame selection committee—a mix of distinguished executives, historians, academics and AMM’s executive editor—will select the inaugural class from 26 finalists: Henry Bessemer, Andrew Carnegie, Luigi Danieli, Henry Clay Frick, Elbert H. Gary, Henry Grey, Jorge Gerdau Johannpeter, Thomas C. Graham, Gerald Heffernan, Yoshihiro Inayama, F. Kenneth Iverson, William Kelley, Willy Korf, Friedrich Krupp, J.P. Morgan, Shigeo Nagano, Park Tae-joon, Agostino Rocca, David Roderick, Irving Rossi, Edward Ryerson, Charles M. Schwab, Tadeusz Sendzimir, Carl Wilhelm Siemens, J.R.D. Tata and E.T. Weir.

Another round of balloting will take place later this year, when the selection committee elects the Class of 2012 to supplement the inaugural class. Founded to celebrate the 130th anniversary of AMM, the Hall of Fame will be housed at

Have your say
  • All comments are subject to editorial review.
    All fields are compulsory.