Search Copying and distributing are prohibited without permission of the publisher
Email a friend
  • To include more than one recipient, please separate each email address with a semi-colon ';', to a maximum of 5

  • By submitting this article to a friend we reserve the right to contact them regarding Fastmarkets AMM subscriptions. Please ensure you have their consent before giving us their details.

AMM COMMENT: Steel Hall of Fame honorees named

Keywords: Tags  AMM Comment, John Ambrosia, Steel Hall of Fame

Sometimes, the greatest heat in steelmaking doesn’t come from the plant floor. Pressures to perform in competition with other companies and for the corporate bottom line can raise the temperatures in which executives must work every day. 

Company leaders have to worry about this year, this quarter, this month. But without those who also manage to keep an eye on what’s coming down the road, the steel industry would not be able to innovate, compete and thrive in an ever-changing and difficult global environment. This is why we seek to recognize such creative and visionary thinking and work.

This month we highlight one such commemoration: Starting on page 24, we profile the inaugural class of eight inductees into the AMM Steel Hall of Fame.

With the day-to-day realities of competition, regulation, challenging markets and rising fuel and raw material costs, it is sometimes easy to lose sight of the achievements of individuals and enterprises who pioneered the trail that led to today’s steel industry as well as of those who are carving out the future of the business. 

The Steel Hall of Fame is being established to recognize the most notable contributors to the advancement of the global steel industry throughout the years and also serves to mark AMM’s 130th anniversary. The inaugural class for the Hall of Fame are Andrew Carnegie and F. Kenneth “Ken” Iverson—who both received a unanimous vote from the selection committee—along with Henry Bessemer, Elbert H. Gary, Yoshihiro Inayama, Willy Korf, Park Tae-joon and Charles M. Schwab. 

The next round of balloting will take place later this year, when the voting committee selects the Class of 2012. For now, however, the eight inaugural members of the AMM Steel Hall of Fame stand tall . . . and alone.

In the realm of contemporary contributions, a panel of industry experts selected a total of 22 nominees in 10 different categories for the inaugural AMM Awards for Steel Tube and Pipe Excellence. Profiles of the winners will appear in the April issue, so be sure to watch for coverage of what we hope is a justly celebrated competition.

Have your say
  • All comments are subject to editorial review.
    All fields are compulsory.